All Leads In. BJP Crosses 320, Congress At 111

Final election results are expected by evening. Counting of votes is underway.

New Delhi: As the counting of votes for general elections is underway, the result trends are coming in. The counting began at 8 am today and by 10 am, all the leads were in. According to the leads in the first two hours of counting, BJP crossed the 320 mark on its own and was as 322, while the Opposition Congress was at 111. The non-aligned parties were at 109. The counting is underway and the final results are expected by the evening.

Counting is also underway for assembly elections in four states – Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim.

Assembly Election Trends at 10 am:

At 10 am, BJD was leading on 69 seats and BJP on 20 seats as leads were in for 95 of 147 seats in the state.

In Andhra Pradesh, YSRC was leading on 135 seats and TDP on 28 seats as leads were in for 166 of 175 seats in the state till 10 am.

At 10 am in Arunachal Pradesh, leads for 18 seats were in in which BJP was leading on 15 seats.

In Sikkim, the leads were in on 9 of 32 seats till 10 am, in which SDF was leading on 2 seats.

The national election was held in seven phases. It began on April 11 and concluded on May 19. Over 2,000 parties and 8,000 candidates are in contest for 543 seats. This time however, counting of votes will take place for 542 constituencies because elections in Tamil Nadu’s Vellore had been cancelled by the Election Commission after a large amount of cash was seized during a raid. This election will choose the 17th Lok Sabha. The members of the largest party or coalition will then choose the Prime Minister. India has seen 16 general elections since independence in 1947. Around 90 crore people are eligible voters, among these, around 15 crore will be first-time voters.

Election Results for Lok Sabha Election 2019 will be out on May 23. Get the latest election news and live updates on Catch all the action on NDTV Live. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for news updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the election 2019

Source link