Ricciardo wins Red Bull’s 250th F1 race


Ricciardo secured his second ever pole position at Monaco. Coincidentally, he got his first pole at this very race track in 2016.


The Australian lapped the circuit in 1m10.810s, setting a new outright lap record for the current iteration of the track.


Despite power issues, Ricciardo managed to score his seventh F1 win. He’s now won as many races as Juan Pablo Montoya and Rene Arnoux.


Ricciardo also became the 61st driver to convert pole position into victory. Also, this was the first time he secured a race win after starting inside the top three.


For the first time in his career, he led a race from start to finish – becoming the 55th driver to do so.


Ricciardo also became the third Australian driver to win around the Principality, joining Jack Brabham (1959, pictures) and Mark Webber (2010, ’12).


For Red Bull, it was its 57th win in F1 – and on its 250th grand prix start.


Red Bull also won its 100th race (Hungary, 2010, pictured) and 150th race (Bahrain, 2013).


Among least important stats, Ricciardo did a shoey for the ninth time in F1, after Germany, Belgium, Malaysia and the United States in 2016, Canada, Azerbaijan and Austria in 2017 and China in 2018.


Sebastian Vettel couldn’t pass Ricciardo but was never in danger of losing second place, bagging his 102nd podium finish and the 733rd for Ferrari.


As for Lewis Hamilton, it was his 122nd podium finish. And for Mercedes, it was for the 162nd time one of its drivers stood on the rostrum.


The reigning world championship continues his record of most consecutive points finishes, taking the tally to 31.


Both Vettel and Hamilton have scored seven podiums in Monaco now – as much as Graham Hill, Alain Prost and Michael Schumacher, but one less than Ayrton Senna.


The three drivers who finished on the podium in Monaco are also the only drivers to have scored a win this year. In fact, all three have scored two wins each so far.


Monaco marked the first time in 2018 that Kimi Raikkonen made it to the race finish, but didn’t stand on the podium. He finished in the top three in Australia, China and Azerbaijan, but retired from the races in Bahrain and Spain.


Force India’s Esteban Ocon finished sixth, securing his best result last year’s Mexican GP, where he finished fifth.


The drivers who started inside the top six finished in the same order. As incredible as it may sound, this has never happened before. However, in the past, there have been five occasions where top five qualifiers finished in the same position – Netherlands 1974, Japan 2000, France and Italy 2003, and Hungary 2017.


Toro Rosso scored its third top-eight result in three years and fourth top-10 result in four years at Monaco.


With Nico Hulkenberg finishing seventh and Carlos Sainz Jr tenth, Renault recorded its first Monaco points result since 2010.


After starting at the back of the grid, Max Verstappen managed to make his way up the order to finish ninth. He also set the fastest lap of the race (1m14.260s) for only the third time in his career, allowing him to match Bruce McLaren, Jochen Rindt and Keke Rosberg.


The Dutchman managed to break the lap record (race only), held by Michael Schumacher (1m14.439s) from 2004.


With Fernando Alonso retiring from the Monaco GP, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel now remain the only two drivers who have scored points in every race this season.


On the other side of the table, Romain Grosjean and Sergey Sitorkin are the only two drivers who are yet to score points this year.


The 2009 Monaco GP was the last F1 race at the Principality that didn’t feature a full-blown safety car.


The 2018 Monaco GP featured a record-equalling number of drivers who made it to the chequered flag. Previously, the 1972 (out of 25 runners), 2007 (out of 22 runners), 2011 (out of 23 runners) and 2015 (out of 20 runners) editions of the event featured 17 finishers.


However, this year’s Monaco GP did see the lowest number of unclassified fishers (i.e. those who didn’t compete 90% of the race). Charles Leclerc and Brendon Hartley didn’t make it to the chequered flag after their late crash, but were classified regardless as they had completed 90% of the race distance. That left Fernando Alonso as the only non-classified finisher from the race.

Source link

About NBN Editorial Team 69156 Articles
NBN's team of Field Producers, Editorial Staff & Contributors create & produce original content for distribution. NBN is located in Beautiful Tampa Bay with Mobile Units Serving Miami, Orlando and Fort Myers.